*Nominations solicited for Milling Operative of the Year

Nominations are being accepted until January 31 for the 2020 “IAOM Milling Operative of the Year” award, which recognizes excellent performance by a miller.

Established in 1986 by Milling & Baking News, sister publication of World Grain, the award will be presented in April to the practicing milling operative who has made the most significant contribution to the progress of a plant, a company and the industry from an operating point of view.

The 32nd annual “Milling Operative of the Year” award will be presented on April 9 at the IAOM Banquet and Awards Ceremony of the 123rd annual International Association of Operative Millers Conference and Expo, April 7-9, in Portland, Oregon. The winner will receive an inscribed plaque, and a scholarship will be established in the winner’s name at Kansas State University in Manhattan, Kansas, USA.

Vince Kintzle, Ardent Mills, Denver, Colorado, USA, was the recipient of the 2019 award.

Other recent winners include:

  • Michael Wiechman, ADM Milling Company, Enid, Oklahoma, US, in 2018
  • Kelly O’Brien, Rgoers Foods Ltd., Chilliwack, British Columbia, Canada, in 2017
  • John “Dub” Miner, Shawnee Milling Company, Shawnee, Oklahoma, US, in 2016
  • John Hultman, Ardent Mills, Decatur, Alabama, US, in 2015
  • Domenico Santoianni, ADM, Montreal, Quebec, Canada, in 2014
  • Tim Carroll, Pendleton Flour Mills, Blackfoot, Idaho, US, in 2013
  • Ken Ball, Star of the West Milling, Quincy, Michigan, US, in 2012
  • Scott Martin, ConAgra Mills, Omaha, Nebraska, US in 2011
  • Emil Kolb, Cargill, Minneapoils, Minnesota, US in 2010
  • Greg Ball, King Milling Company, Lowell, Michigan, US, in 2009
  • Ted Korolchuk, ConAgra Mills, Omaha, Nebraska, US, in 2008
  • Michael Wade Blalock, Milner Milling Company Inc., Barnesville, Georgia, US, in 2007
  • Todd Peterson, North Dakota Mill, Grand Forks, North Dakota, US, in 2006
  • Everett Abercrombie, Horizon Milling, Chattanooga, Tennessee, US, in 2005
  • Mike Long, Bay State Milling Company, Quincy, Massachusetts, US, in 2004
  • Bob Reid, The Mennel Milling Company, Fostoria, Ohio, US, in 2003
  • Kevin Doehring, American Italian Pasta Co., Excelsior Springs, Missouri, US, in 2002
  • Neil Mathieson, Robin Hood Multifoods Inc., Port Colborne, Ontario, Canada, in 2001

Nominations should be submitted by January 31, in a summary of not more than two pages to:

IAOM Nominating Committee
c/o IAOM Headquarters Office
12351 W. 96th Terrace, Suite 100
Lenexa, KS 66215
Email: info@iaom.info  re: Milling Operative of the Year Award
Fax: +1 913-338-3553