Introducing the IAOM Aspiring Miller Award

IAOM Aspiring Miller Award
This award recognizes exceptional under 30-year-old milling professionals who have already made important contributions to their companies.

Eligibility and Qualifications
Nominees must be active members of IAOM, who are identified by their companies and/or industry partners as having made significant contributions to their milling company’s operations. Nominees should be no more than 30 years old on the first day of the conference (August 30, 2021).

Nomination and Selection Process
Nominations shall be submitted to IAOM through the online nomination form or sent to the IAOM Nominating Committee ( before April 16, 2021. The Nominating Committee is comprised of the three most recent IAOM past presidents. All nomination forms will be submitted to the Nominating Committee for review after the nominating deadline.

The Aspiring Miller Award will be presented during the annual banquet and awards ceremony held during the IAOM Annual Global Conference.

*Nominations solicited for Milling Operative of the Year

Nominations are being accepted until April 8 for the 2021 “IAOM Milling Operative of the Year” award, which recognizes excellent performance by a miller.

Established in 1986 by Milling & Baking News, sister publication of World Grain, the award will be presented in April to the practicing milling operative who has made the most significant contribution to the progress of a plant, a company and the industry from an operating point of view.

The 32nd and 33rd annual “Milling Operative of the Year” awards will be presented on September 1 at the IAOM Banquet and Awards Ceremony of the 125th Anniversary International Association of Operative Millers Conference and Expo, August 29-September 2, in Little Rock, Arkansas. The winner will receive an inscribed plaque, and a scholarship will be established in the winner’s name at Kansas State University in Manhattan, Kansas, USA.

Vince Kintzle, Ardent Mills, Denver, Colorado, USA, was the recipient of the 2019 award.

Other recent winners include:

  • Michael Wiechman, ADM Milling Company, Enid, Oklahoma, US, in 2018
  • Kelly O’Brien, Rgoers Foods Ltd., Chilliwack, British Columbia, Canada, in 2017
  • John “Dub” Miner, Shawnee Milling Company, Shawnee, Oklahoma, US, in 2016
  • John Hultman, Ardent Mills, Decatur, Alabama, US, in 2015
  • Domenico Santoianni, ADM, Montreal, Quebec, Canada, in 2014
  • Tim Carroll, Pendleton Flour Mills, Blackfoot, Idaho, US, in 2013
  • Ken Ball, Star of the West Milling, Quincy, Michigan, US, in 2012
  • Scott Martin, ConAgra Mills, Omaha, Nebraska, US in 2011
  • Emil Kolb, Cargill, Minneapoils, Minnesota, US in 2010
  • Greg Ball, King Milling Company, Lowell, Michigan, US, in 2009
  • Ted Korolchuk, ConAgra Mills, Omaha, Nebraska, US, in 2008
  • Michael Wade Blalock, Milner Milling Company Inc., Barnesville, Georgia, US, in 2007
  • Todd Peterson, North Dakota Mill, Grand Forks, North Dakota, US, in 2006
  • Everett Abercrombie, Horizon Milling, Chattanooga, Tennessee, US, in 2005
  • Mike Long, Bay State Milling Company, Quincy, Massachusetts, US, in 2004
  • Bob Reid, The Mennel Milling Company, Fostoria, Ohio, US, in 2003
  • Kevin Doehring, American Italian Pasta Co., Excelsior Springs, Missouri, US, in 2002
  • Neil Mathieson, Robin Hood Multifoods Inc., Port Colborne, Ontario, Canada, in 2001

Nominations should be submitted by April 8, in a summary of not more than two pages to:

IAOM Nominating Committee
c/o IAOM Headquarters Office
12351 W. 96th Terrace, Suite 100
Lenexa, KS 66215
Email:  re: Milling Operative of the Year Award
Fax: +1 913-338-3553